Farewell Talk 9/29/13

I have been thinking about what to say today for a long time. I hope you will let the Spirit into your hearts so that I can get across to you what I have been feeling.

In Mark 5:36 it says, “Be not afraid, only believe.” I want to share an experience with you where I had to use and remember this. I was going through a struggle, and every day I was working on it. One day I just felt like I couldn’t go on. I felt alone, and like I couldn’t keep moving. That was when I realized that I couldn’t do this on my own. I needed the Savior. I needed Him to help me through.

I want to read to you some of the words of a song by Hilary Weeks titled ‘Never Alone.’

 Cause when the darkness comes

I’m a prisoner to my fears.

Although I’m listening the doubt is all I hear.

Then I reach for your hand

And feel you reaching back,

And the light returns

And I begin… to understand.

My soul can feel the Mercy

 And love in your plan,

And when I let go

And turn all the hurt and sorrow over to you

The burden is light

And trusting, I find

Though the storms roll in

And winds of change may blow

I know you’ll let them come

So that I can learn and grow.

And when I reach for your hand

I feel you reaching back

And that’s how I know

I am never alone.

President Monson said, “There will be times when you… worry that you walk alone. Fear replaces faith. When you find yourself in such circumstances, I plead with you to remember prayer.”

Elder Larry W Gibbons said, “When we are uncertain of the path ahead, we fill up our hearts with faith, go forward into the unknown, and stop and pray again and again.” I really love this quote. Sometimes we don’t know what will come next and it can be scary. But we have to have enough faith in God to move forward into the dark and unknown. We cannot make it in this life without Heavenly Father and we cannot have Him with us unless we pray.

When I leave for Mexico in two weeks I know there will be a lot of fear and some doubts. But I know that Heavenly Father will be with me every step of the way.

In Doctrine &Covenants 84:88 it says, “And whoso receiveth you, there I will be also, for I will go before your face. I will be on your right hand and on your left, and my Spirit shall be in your hearts, and mine angels round about you, to bear you up.” This is very true for my mission, but it also relates to all of us, every day. He will be with you wherever you go, and He will send His angels to bear you up when you need it.

When I was deciding whether or not to go on a mission it took me a long time to decide. I thought about it for about 6 months. I got to the point where I had decided that it wasn’t for me. I was going to just keep going to school and keep doing what I was doing. Then I went to a meeting where they were talking all about missionary work. I don’t remember what was said but I do remember that it was powerful, and that I felt that I needed to go on a mission. I was scared. Even up to know I still have those moments where I get scared and wonder why I am doing this. But I know that I can do it with the Lords help.

Jeffrey R Holland said, “In moments of fear or doubt or troubling times, hold the ground you have already won, even if that ground is limited.” I know life will be hard. I also know that if we hold to our faith we can make it with the Lord’s help.

I want to read the words to a song that is one of my favorites. It’s called ‘Everywhere I Go’ by Sally Deford.

This is my journey, like Israel of old,

I travel through the wilderness so far away from home,

Though dangers surround me, Though the night is long,

The Lord is my light, my beacon and guide, my strength and my song

 

And I will be strong, I will walk unafraid,

With the Lord as my companion every step along the way,

Then come what may, I’ll live with courage in my heart

Because I know He is with me everywhere I go.

 

This is my journey like Israel of old,

I need not wander lost, nor seek to find my way alone,

His presence before me is all that I require

The Lord is my light, my beacon and guide, my pillar of fire

 

And I will be strong, I will walk unafraid

With the Lord as my companion every step along the way,

Then come what may, I’ll live with courage in my heart

Because I know He is with me everywhere I go.

 

This is my journey, and nothing will I fear,

The Lord my God will safely pilot me, and keep my pathway sure.

My help and my guardian, to the journey’s end

The Lord is my light, my beacon and guide, my Savior, my Friend.

 

And I will be strong. I will walk unafraid,

With the Lord as my companion every step along the way.

Then come what may, I’ll live with courage in my heart because I know

He is the Lord of Heaven and earth, He is the perfect Light of Truth,

And He is with me everywhere I go.

President Monson said, “Your Heavenly Father loves you. Each of you. That love never changes. It is not influenced by your parents, or by your possessions, or by the money you have in your bank account. It is not changed by your talents or abilities. It is simply there. It is there for you when you are sad or happy, discouraged or hopeful. God’s love is there for you whether or not you deserve love. It is simply always there.”

I know that to be true. I know that God is there for us. I know that He is there for us even when we don’t know He is there, and if we pray and ask He will let us know that is there. I know He loves us. I say that in the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.

Leave a Reply

