10/31/13

This has been a crazy week! I think I might just have to get used to that though… We still are doing a lot of learning. We got another new district of elders yesterday. 5 new elders. It’s great. We also had to move classrooms because they are making all of west campus Spanish speaking! It’s great because now everyone we see speaks Spanish!

We got to go to the temple again this morning. Me and the other 3 Hermanas did initiatories. It was amazing. Afterwards we sat in the waiting room waiting for our elders. There was a video on about the dedication of the Salt Lake Temple. It was really cool.
After the temple we went to main campus to get some things from the book store. Let’s just say that I am glad that I am on west campus 🙂 I like being able to be outside a lot.
The devotionals this week were great. I can’t remember all about both of them because I don’t have my notebook with me. I remember that on Tuesday we had a member of the 70 talk about his conversion. It was great because his first language is Spanish. It was comforting to know that you don’t have to know the language perfectly to be able to have the Spirit there. It was also great because he told us the whole story from when he first walked into one of the churches to when he was able to when one of his sister missionaries asked him to seal her son to his wife in the temple. It was amazing. One of my favorite parts was when he told about finding out that Christ’s church is on the earth again. He said he went home and told his family “The church of Christ is back!” His family didn’t really understand what he was saying so to emphasis how excited he was to tell his family he grabbed the microphone and, shaking it, said “Christ’s church is back!!!!” It was great.
I also sang in the choir again this week. We sang Be Still My Soul. It was beautiful! I love being in the choir. I’m so glad my companion loves it too.
This week has been great, but it has been hard too. I was talking to my branch president and I realized that I had been focusing on the wrong thing. I was focusing on myself. I realized that I need to think about others in order to be happy and to be the best missionary I can be. Focus on my companion and the people in my district and zone. Focus on my investigators and on learning as much as I can so that I can help those people in Mexico Monterrey West Mission that are waiting for someone to come teach them. Our purpose as missionaries (and everyone is a missionary…) is to “invite others to come unto Christ…” (read the whole purpose on pg 1 PMG.. It’s great). I can’t invite others to come unto Christ if I am thinking about me.
It’s amazing how much you can learn in two weeks when the Spirit is your teacher.
I love you all. Love to hear from you. So glad to have such great support. I hope all is going well.
Love You!
Hermana Chapman
Leave a Reply

