random outbursts of song/ sister training leaders

I can’t believe it’s been 3 weeks already! I’m half way done with the MTC! That’s a really exciting thing, but also a little nerve racking. I need to work even harder so that I can be the best from this point on that I can be when I get to Mexico. My Spanish is coming alright. It’s amazing that after only 3 weeks of study I can understand almost everything my teachers say to us. El Don de Lenguas! (The Gift of Tongues!) It’s exciting when my companion and I teach a lesson in Spanish. Sometimes we just look at each other and say, “We’re speaking Spanish!” I really love this language.

It’s hard to remember what has happened this week because we do so much every day. Sometimes I don’t even remember what we did in from morning to afternoon. It’s great!
One of my favorite things was that I got to be a part of two random outbursts of song! One night my district and I were walking home from class. Another district came up to us and asked if we sang. We said yes. They sang us “Army of Helaman” with some amazing harmonies. Then we all sang “I Know That My Redeemer Lives” and “Love Is Spoken Here.” It was so great! Then when we were getting bused up to main campus for devotional we (everyone on the bus) sang “Called to Serve” It was great.
Also, my companion and I are Sister Training Leaders!!!! We get to work a little bit with the zone leaders. Mostly we help the Sisters be the best they can be. I love it and I love all of the sisters here in my zone. This week we got 3 new districts in our zone! And 5 new sisters!!!! It’s so great. We got to do the welcome orientation last night. It was so much fun. I remember being in their shoes and being so overwhelmed. I pray for them and know that they are all going to be great. I love being able to serve my zone.
One of the great things that was talked about in Devotional was BECOMING. My thought that went with this: We have been invited to become fishers of men. That doesn’t mean I have to be the best missionary right now. It doesn’t even mean that I have to be the best missionary by the end of my mission. It means that every day I work as hard as I can to be the best missionary I can be that day. I am working on becoming a fisher of men. I think we can all work on that each day.
One more thing that I learned this week. 2 Nephi 9:23 “And he commandeth all men that they must repent, and be baptized in his name, having perfect faith in the Holy One of Israel, or they cannot be saved in the kingdom of God.” I cannot be perfect in this life. But I can work each day on having perfect faith. Believing and Knowing that God is there for me always. He may not answer every question or request I have right now. But I do know that He is there and that He wants to help me in the way that He knows is best for me.
I love my Savior and I am so glad to have this opportunity to serve Him, serve His children, learn to love more and come closer to Him. This is a great place.
I love you all
Con un grande abrazo de oso
Hermana Chapman el joven
Leave a Reply

