12/9/13

Hola Familia!!

This week has been great! I am getting to know my companions better and I am getting better at understanding the Spanish. The food here is great too. The other day we had enchiladas. They were the best I have ever tasted. We put cream and cheese on top. So yummy! I also had something that was hard to eat. It was a warm drink. The best way I can describe it is watered-down hot chocolate with a slimmy, chunky texture. That was fun. The good thing was that I had some delicious food to go with it. I don´t remember if I said this last week but we eat tortillas with pretty much everything.

It has been pretty cold here the last couple days. I have been wearing about 3 sweaters, both pairs of leggings and my coat. What I can figure is that it is usually either really hot, or really cold here in Monterrey. My companions and I look quite comical sometimes. It´s great though. We have a great time laughing about it. We had one day where it was about 85-90 degrees outside and the next day was about 40-45. The other day we were in the house of a member and we were talking about heaters and how every house in the US has a heating system. I told them that we were a little spoiled in the US. They thought that was pretty funny. Practically nobody down here has heating systems because electricity is so expensive.
México is such a great place. The people are so nice! They don´t have much, but they have what they need. Something I have noticed this week is that there are so many people here with so much faith in God. We stop people to talk to them in the streets and they talk with us about Christ and what He has done for us. I very much enjoy that.
This week we were able to teach the Restoration a lot. We have 3 investigators named S, and N and J. While we were teaching the Restoration to them, I felt the Spirit so strongly. When we go to the story of Joseph Smith and the Restoration I had such a great desire to share it with them! It is a powerful story and I know it´s true. I want people to know that our Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ established the true church on the earth and that The Book of Mormon is true. I know it can help them! I thank my Heavenly Father every day that I have the chance to be a missionary!
One scripture that I wanted to share with you all is in Alma 13:28. I read it this morning during my studies. 28 But that ye would humble yourselves before the Lord, and call on his holy name, and awatch and pray continually, that ye may not be btempted above that which ye can bear, and thus be cled by the Holy Spirit, becoming humble, dmeek, submissive, patient, full of love and all long-suffering;
I love this because I know that God will help me to bear whatever burden I need to in this life. I can overcome any challenge. But I have to continually invite Christ into my life. We have to be humble and live the Gospel. If we do this, then we can overcome anything. We have to do our part first.
I know the Church is the Church of Jesus Christ. It is here on the earth to help us return to live with our Father in Heaven. I am so grateful for that blessing in my life, and I know that ¨because I have been given much, I too must give.¨Right now is my time to share with everyone I can the blessing of the Gospel. I pray that the Lord will be with me to guide me to those who need it.
I love you all tons!! Keep working hard and living what we have been blessed to know!
Con amor y un abrazo de oso!
Hermana Chapman la menor
Leave a Reply

