12/30/13

Hola familia!

It’s hard to believe that i just talked to you this week because so much has happened! We had some great food here for Christmas and it was fun to be here in Mexico. Christmas here is like a big party, kind of like new years. It was also great to have another family here with all the members of the church. They are great.
This week we had exchanges. Hna M went to another area and the sister training leader was here in H with hna S and I. It was a lot of fun and I learned a lot from her. That day we also had a great lesson with S and her entire family! We showed a video called Together Forever about how families can be together forever. The Spirit was so strong! It was also great because at the end of the lesson one of their sons offered to give the closing prayer. They are a great family.
We also had a great Sunday. S and her family came to church! We were super excited to have them, and the ward was great. We also had A and J in church. They are getting baptized this Saturday!!  They are so ready and are so happy to be a part of this gospel family. I cant wait.
Things I learned this week:
The Doritos here are different! They have a bit more cheese and a little spice. Pretty good!
When it rains here the streets are like rivers. Have to be careful when cars drive by!
Grocery bags inside your boots makes it so that your feet stay nice and toasty.
Now to the real stuff.
I have learned once again that this is the work of God. Sometimes when we are teaching something I think, I’m not sure this person will accept this. It might be really hard for them to do. But they do! We taught some investigators about tithing and even though they don’t have much they are willing to do it because it is a commandment from God and the Spirit has testified to their hearts that it is true. I know that when we are doing our best the Lord will make up the rest. I am not perfect and for certain cannot teach these people all that they need to know. But I can bring the Spirit to teach them. All they need is my best effort and the spirit. In all our lives it is the same. All that God asks for is our best and through the sacrifice of Christ, He will make up the rest. What a blessing!!
One last thing that I learned this week. The Lord said, “This is my work and my glory, to bring to pass the immortality and eternal life of man.” this is the same for me as a missionary. I am here to bring immortality and eternal life to people through the message of the restored gospel of Jesus Christ. But you don’t have to be a missionary to do this. We can help our families and friends too. I think the best way to do this is through love. When we love others we want the best for them. The best is to be with God and our families after this life. That’s what eternal life is.
I hope you all have a happy new year. Cheer extra loud for me at midnight! Just remember that this next year can be the best yet if we decide to make it so and work our best to accomplish it.
Con mucho amor!! Y un abrazo de oso!!
Hermana Chapman la menor
Ps sorry about no pictures this week. We had some computer issues. Next week! Les amo!
Leave a Reply

