1/15/14

Sorry about not writing on Monday. Our P-day was changed to Wednesday/today because we got to go to the temple this morning. It was great. I´ll write about it in a minute.

This week was crazy! Tuesday was cambios but none of us changed. So Tuesday was really great. We had some great lessons. Wednesday was also really great. We had our meeting with the other missionaries in our zone. It was fun to meet the new missionaries in our zone. We also got another set of sisters in our zone! They opened some new areas here and I hear there will be some more in the next cambio because we are getting so many missionaries. Wednesday night we got a call that Hna S was getting transferred. We all cried for a bit because it was very unexpected. Then we got to packing her suitcase and were up till late. the next morning we went to the offices and had a switch of companions. It was hard to say goodbye to Hna S because she is a great missionary. I know we are where we are supposed to be. I am still in the same place with Hna M but now we have Hna A (we were together in the MTC also). This week has been an adjustment but this is a great companionship.
The rest of the week was pretty normal. Teaching lessons and talking to a lot of great people. We had stake conference on Sunday and had the opportunity to listen to Craig C Christensen, of the 70; Neill Marriott, of the young womens presidency; Elder D Todd Christofferson; and Robert D Hales. It was all in Spanish but I really enjoyed it. We also had our investigators with us so that was really cool. Did you know that Elder Christofferson has a great Spanish accent?!
Mostly I want to tell you about yesterday. We did splits with the other sister from our zone. They were in our area last night because their area is really far away and we had to get up early for the temple this morning. I was in one part of the area with them, while Hnas M and A were in another part. We were able to receive some great references and contact a lot of great people. It always amazes me how the Lord always knows were we are needed and guides us there. We found some new investigators. It was also great because I did most of the talking and I realized that, more or less, I know Spanish! The best two parts of my day were with the same investigators. It´s the Fam P, S y J. We were walking by their house and they were sitting outside their house reading the Book of Mormon!!!!!!!! I was so overjoyed!
The other part was in the lesson that we had with them later that night. We were able to answer all of the questions that they had. It is an amazing thing to feel when the Spirit is working through you. I am humbled every day by the miracles that I see and the blessing that I have to be a sister missionary here in Misión México Monterrey Oeste . We, as humans, are imperfect. But if we make an effort every day to do the things that we know we need to do, we can recognize the Lord in our lives every day. We can see miracles. Miracles come when we are willing to be and are obedient to the commandments of God.
I know this church is the church of Christ on the earth. I know that it is here for us. Each and every one. I know that it is through the Gospel of Christ that we can find happiness in our lives and in our families and not just for this life but for forever. I am so grateful for the sacrifice that Christ made for all of us so that every day we can strive to be better. This life is hard, but that is how we grow. Like Pres Monson quoted in his conference talk:
 Good timber does not grow with ease,
The stronger wind, the stronger trees.
The further sky, the greater length.
The more the storm, the more the strength.
By sun and cold, by rain and snow,
In trees and men good timbers grow.
Thank you for your examples, friendship, guidance and love. I am so grateful for each and every one of you in my life. I love you all tons and I hope you have a great week!
con mushísimo amor y un abrazo de oso
Hermana Chapman la menor
Leave a Reply

