Mexico, I love it! 4/28/14

Mexico: I love it! Right now we are getting into the hot season. It is really dry here and the sun burns. I`ve never been so tan in my life! The water here in Monterrey isn`t so bad. We use it to brush our teeth. But not very many people drink it. We have these big jugs that we fill up. They have stations around town that you can go to for filtered water. There are washers and dryers here. A lot of people don`t have dryers so you see clothes hanging out to dry a lot. It`s actually kind of fun to do that. Makes you feel old fashioned. I still have yet to see a dishwasher. Maybe they have them in the richer areas…
The ward I`m in right now is pretty big. We are the only ward in the chapel which is nice. I played the piano this Sunday for Sacrament meeting but normally one of the members does it. My other ward in San Nicolas I played more frequently. But other than that I do only get to play on P-day… 
The language is going great. I really love speaking it. It`s pretty funny when we walk around in our area because we are both Americans people start talking to us in English, and sometimes I can`t respond back in English! We had a contact a couple weeks ago that knew English. Trying to teach in English was hard! 
Right now I believe my area is kind of like a suburb of Monterrey called S. That`s all I know. I still have to figure out the layout. But we do have a couple small towns in my mission. I believe only one of them has an area for sisters. It was in my other stake. 
As for my confidence as a missionary, I do feel better. Although in the mission you always see what you still  have to work on. And there`s a lot 🙂 This week I was thinking a lot about life. How beautiful it really is. That every day we have the option to be happy or not. We have the ability to change and become better. That every person that walks by us in the street is completely different than any other. I love that we can feel all the emotions. Even the ones that aren`t so good. Something one of our investigators said yesterday is that it`s okay to feel those things because it means you are alive. We are so lucky to be able to live every day! There’s a phrase that one of the missionaries that is also in this ward told me: In the mission there are never bad days, only hard ones. 
10 And in that day Adam blessed God and was afilledand began to bprophesy concerning all the families of the earth, saying:Blessed be the
 name of God, for because of my ctransgression mydeyes are opened, and in 
this life shall have ejoyand again in thefflesh I shall see God.

 11 And Eve, his wife, heard all these things and was glad, saying:Were it not

 for our transgression we never should have had aseed,and never should

 have bknown good and evil, and the joy of our redemption, and the eternal life which God giveth unto all the

obedient.

 12 And Adam and aEve blessed the name of God, and they made
all things bknown unto their sons and their daughters. Moses 5:10-12
I am so grateful to God for every day I have here. Like it says here, if we had never come to this earth we would never have known good from the evil and the joy of our redemption (or the joy we will have to return to God better than we were). 
24 But behold, all things have been done in the wisdom of him who aknoweth all things.
 25 aAdam bfell that men might be; and men carethat they might have djoy
2 Nephi 2:24-25
Oh how grateful I am for the joy we can find in every day! Even the ones that are hard. I know that God is always blessing us with little miracles. Try to find them. Like the song says ¨Count your many blessings, see what God hath done!¨ 
I love you all a ton! Make this week a great one!
Con muchìsimo amor y un abrazo de oso
Hermana Chapman la menor
Leave a Reply

