Feliz Dìa de Reyes! (Jan 6)‏ 1/12/15

 Don`t ask me what exactly is celebrated this day because I don`t know. All I know is that you eat Rosca de Reyes. (Three Kings bread.)
They hide little plastic dolls in it and the person that gets the doll has to make tamales on the 2nd of Feb I believe. Its taste pretty good too!
We got to go with a couple of girls this week and, I was able to see Hna G again! That was super fun.
This week I found out as well that one of the people that Hna B and I were teaching before will get baptized this Sunday! His name is R. C.  The other sisters have been teaching him because we divided the area but I am super excited.
Another fun thing that we did this week:
​We made tortillas! It`s a nice arm workout.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI made that one.
They turned out really thick but they tasted good. Now I know how to do it and all the little secrets 🙂 It was a lot of fun.
Last thing for this week. It was interesting this week as we started the challenge that we have from President Swapp to read the Book of Mormon, we also had some opposition around that point. We are strengthening that part of our testimony and, as always, the enemy sticks his head in. But I loved a scripture that I read
And it shall come to pass, that if the Gentiles shall hearken unto the Lamb of God in that day 
that he shall manifest himself unto them in word, and also in powerin very deed, unto the 
taking away of their stumbling blocks
1 Nephi 14:1
What I understood from that scripture (reading it again) isn`t really what it say but I liked what I felt. If we can give heed to the word of God, He will take away all of our stumbling blocks. We need not worry about other people. What we need to worry about is our relationship with God, knowing that He will always hear us.
Reading this scripture and many others this week has strengthened my testimony that this book is true. I am so grateful that we have it and that, as we read it, we can hear exactly what the Lord wants us to understand. I know He is watching over us.
I love you all. I hope you can make this week a great one.
Con muchìsimo amor y un abrazo de oso!
Hermana Chapman
info from Mexico in my Kitchen-
While children on México’s Northern states received their presents in Christmas day, those living in Central México and the Southern states are still waiting for January 6th. Why? Because it is the day when the 3 wise men from the Orient will arrive and bring their presents to baby Jesus, or at least that’s how the story goes. That day they will also celebrate eating the popular “Three Kings Bread” called Rosca de Reyes in México, and Mexican hot chocolate. People do not usually bake their Rosca bread. This is a busy time for the Mexican bakeries that will be selling these delicious Roscas not just to eat at home, but also in the office or school. Inside the bread, or rosca, is a plastic little doll (about one inch long) representing baby Jesus. Whoever gets the doll in their slice has to cook tamales on February 2nd. Also called Candelaria Day.
Leave a Reply

