The Book of Mormon ‏ 2/3/15

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
This week I wanted to share with you all some of the thoughts I have had while taking on this challenge to read the Book of Mormon in 45 days. I am working on it and am a little behind… but loving it! I don´t know if I told you, but I have a little notebook that I decorated that I am writing a small summary of every chapter. It is interesting because I am not looking at specific verses but at the chapter as a whole I have learned some great things. In Chapter 20 of Alma it is talking about Ammon and Lamoni his convert. They decide to go to another area to save the brothers of Ammon but run into Lamoni´s dad, who gets mad because he is with a Nephite. So that´s the basic story. What I took out of it was the love that has to exist between all of us. Lamoni was so willing to help Ammon save his brothers.

 Now Lamoni said unto Ammon: know, in the strength of the Lord thou canst do all things. But behold, will go with thee to the land of Middoni
 And he said unto Ammon: Come, will go with thee down to the land of Middoni, and there will plead with the king that he will cast thy brethren out of prison.
verse 4/7
Ammon was willing to defend Lamoni at the cost of his own life:
17 But Ammon stood forth and said unto him: Behold, thou shalt not slay thy son
verse17
This astonished the king and changed his heart:

 26 And when he saw that Ammon had no desire to destroy him,and when he also saw the great love he had for his son Lamoni, he was astonished exceedingly, and said:

 Because this is all that thou hast desired, that would release thy brethren, and suffer that my son Lamoni should retain his kingdom, behold, will grant unto you that my son may retain his kingdom from this time and forever; and will govern him no more—

 27 And will also grant unto thee that thy brethren may be cast out of prison, and thou and thy brethren may come unto me, in my kingdom; for shall greatly desire to see thee. For the king was greatly astonished at the words which he had spoken, and also at the words which had been spoken by his son Lamoni, therefore he was desirous to learn them. verse 26/27

I loved reading this story. Now to apply it to us. What can we do to help someone in our ward that needs it? It doesn´t have to be anything big. Support them in their personal needs. Showing love for others is a very powerful way to share the gospel with others. It doesn´t have to be limited to just those that are members of the church either. Serve those around you. Love them like the Savior would do.
Now think about it: Who needs my love and support to become closer to their Heavenly Father today?
con muchísimo amor y un abrazo de oso
Hermana Chapman
Leave a Reply

